February 20, 2010

Rest Day

Posted in Healthy Eating, Running at 12:04 am by savorencyclopedia

Rest day.  I love those two words!  As much as I am actually enjoying my workouts lately, I have to admit that a good rest day is amazing.  A little light walking to stretch out the leg muscles, but nothing more.  My legs felt like jello yesterday afternoon after completing Week 4 Day 2 of the C25K.  I stopped at the grocery store for the sole purpose of buying bananas to hopefully prevent cramping in my legs.  $60 later I was blissfully eating a banana while driving home and loaded up on fresh produce.  My efforts were a success; no leg cramping to speak of.

Tonight I put the lovely produce I purchased last night to good use.  I sauteed zucchini, yellow summer squash, and asparagus in extra virgin oil oil and garlic. Tossed in some whole wheat penne pasta, basil, salt, and pepper. Delicious!

I assumed it would seem like a lot of work to prepare for one person, but in all honesty it was quite simple and very satisfying.  I will definitely be preparing this meal a few more times this week to use up the rest of these fresh veggies.  I was hesitant to buy them, considering they are not peak this time of year, but the flavor was still wonderful.  Maybe it is because I have not eaten asparagus or zucchini in ages; no matter what the reasoning, I was pleasantly surprised!

Leave a Reply

