February 20, 2010

Message Boards

Posted in Goals, Healthy Eating, Running at 5:36 am by savorencyclopedia

I have found a wealth of knowledge online through different message boards.

I regularly lurk and occasionally post on the 20 Year Olds and 50+ To Lose boards on Weight Watchers.  I have found more information and support on those boards than you can imagine.  Many of the people that post do not pull any punches, and that is what I love about the boards.  The information you receive may not necessarily be what you want to hear, but it will always be genuine and honest.  I am able to ask questions anonymously and without any reservations, knowing that I will receive an abundance of real life answers from people who have experienced similar situations.  I have not found any other message boards that are more relevant to my life.

Another message board that I just began to frequent is on Active.  There are many forums that discuss different aspects of the running process.  As a novice, I have many questions.  Thankfully, people ask and answer questions that I didn’t even know I had, such as the proper etiquette to use during a race.  Who knew you don’t typically wear the t-shirt of the event you are currently running?  I totally would have made that newbie mistake.  Common sense would tell most people that at the water stations on a race, you shouldn’t stop right where you receive the water to prevent large crowds.  Would I have actually thought of that?  I like to think so, but honestly I’m not sure.

I hope that I continue to find more message boards and forums that allow me to educate myself as much as possible on this process of becoming healthy.

Leave a Reply

