February 21, 2010

New Cravings

Posted in Healthy Eating at 8:26 pm by savorencyclopedia

I have been craving vegetables lately.  Yes, you heard me correctly!  It is amazing how quickly eating healthy foods can change your tastebuds.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love a good bowl of ice cream or slice of pizza; that will probably never change.  But I am actually craving delicious, healthfully prepared meals.

This weekend I have made basically the same meal every day.  I picked up some wonderful zucchini the other night (both green and yellow) along with some asparagus.  I have been slicing them up and sautéing them in extra virgin olive oil with some garlic, basil, salt and pepper each day.  Friday night I added some penne pasta, but the rest of the weekend I just sautéed the veggies.

Mashed cauliflower proved to be the perfect companion to the sautéed veggies.  I sliced a small red potato into cubes and along with about one cup of fresh cauliflower.  I covered them with water and boiled for about 10-15 minutes until they were tender.  I always salt the water when boiling just about anything.  Then in a mini-blender, I combined one cube of light Laughing Cow swiss wedge, a dash of milk, garlic, salt, pepper and the cooked potato and cauliflower.  I like mine with chunks of potato, so I didn’t blend them too long.  It makes a large and satisfying serving of mashed cauliflower/potatoes.  Delicious!

Leave a Reply

