February 21, 2010

New Orleans

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:08 am by savorencyclopedia

I will be traveling to New Orleans later this week!  Woohoo!  As much as I am looking forward to the vacation, I also fear that I will use this as an excuse to throw away all of my hard work.  If I have learned one thing from my past experiences struggling with healthy eating, it is that if I take a few days off it is difficult for me to get back on the wagon.

And I fully intend to take some time off while I am in New Orleans!  I have been dreaming of beingets, authentic French cuisine, and genuine Creole & Cajun cooking! I am not depriving myself of these flavors!  And who can forget about the luscious drinks that will be awaiting me.  I mean I will be able to finally fulfill one of my life long goals:  legally drinking in the streets! But I do know that the second I return home, I need to revert to focusing on fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and the like.

I intend to do a lot of walking in the French Quarter, but I am realistic. I know that I will not continue my training for a 5K while I am away.  I think I have come up with a plan that I think will work for me, though!  I am going to repeat Week 4 this week (although I will only get 2 of the 3 runs in before I leave.)  I have been struggling with the last five minute run this week anyway, so I think the extra days will be good for me.  Hopefully the rest days while I am in New Orleans will give me some fresh legs when I return, ready for Week 5!

I will not use this trip as an excuse to quit!  I will use it as motivation.  Maybe I will have to plan another trip as a reward if (I mean when) I reach my health goals!

Leave a Reply

