March 5, 2010

Breathing

Posted in Running at 1:26 am by savorencyclopedia

I can not think of a time in my life when I have had to actively think about my breathing.  It seems so odd to me to literally think “breath in through my nose and out through my mouth” as I run!  Yet I know this is the proper way to breath when you run and it doesn’t come naturally to me.

Getting the breathing down has been quite a process for me.  It definitely makes me appreciate all of the things my body does for me that I never consider.  Tonight the breathing finally seemed to click and make my run go smoothly! I hope it lasts!  I’ve definitely noticed a difference in my lung capacity and with continuous awareness of my breathing at this point, I hope it will become natural soon and I won’t have to even think about breathing while I run.

I intended to continue with my week 4 running this week, but when I looked at the times for week 5 day 1 I decided that I could push myself and do it.  I am so glad that I did!  I made it through the run and felt great about pushing myself afterwards.  I began to feel how when the strides and breathing fall into place, my run will be amazing.  I have enjoyed the process so far, but I certainly wouldn’t say it has been easy for me.  I hope that small things like this keep clicking into place and things become easier.  Every time something like this happens, I feel a bit more like a runner.

1 Comment »

  1. cookinghussy said,

    My breathing never got to the point that I didn’t notice it. It just go easier to not focus on it as much. I actually used my breathing pattern to determine my exertion level, starting out slow at in five, out four, working up to the final sprint: in two, out two.

    Regardless, keep up the good work and I hope the breathing can get to become less of a focus!


Leave a Reply

